Introducing the 2016-17 Employees of Distinction

2016-17 District Finalists Announced
Posted on 11/02/2016

Ouachita Parish Schools is proud to present our 2016-17 Employees of Distinction. The district finalists were announced Tuesday, November 1 in a community banquet hosted by Ouachita Parish Schools, the West Monroe-West Ouachita Chamber of Commerce, and the Adopt-A-School Program. More than 250 attendees celebrated the accomplishments of 75 honorees.

“We are humbled to recognize the caliber of employees within our district. Every honoree present is a winner and worthy of the utmost respect and praise. We are very proud of our employees and community who pull together for excellence in educating our students,” said Dr. Don Coker, Superintendent of Ouachita Parish Schools.

2016-17 Finalists were announced in three categories:

Teachers of the Year
Angela Barfoot, Highland Elementary
Emily Lincecum, Calhoun Middle
Darron Underwood, Ouachita Parish High

Support Employees of the Year
Patricia Lawson, Calhoun Elementary
Emily Walsworth, West Ridge Middle
Katie Kahmann, West Monroe High

Principals of the Year
Judy Manning, Swartz Lower Elementary
Twainna Calhoun, Good Hope Middle
Dr. Sharilynn Loche, Richwood High

The finalists chosen for Teacher and Principal of the Year will continue on to compete in the Louisiana Department of Education Awards Programs for their respective categories.

Coordinators of the program, Jamie Brooks and Aline Smead, were delighted with the event which was made possible by sponsorships from businesses and the hard work of the Adopt-A-School Committee. Horace Mann Insurance stepped up as the presenting sponsor, and contributions to the program were received from CenturyLink, Newk’s Eatery, Origin Bank, Ouachita Independent Bank, Ouachita Valley Federal Credit Union, Senator Mike Walsworth, Standard Wireless Group, State Representative Frank Hoffmann, State Representative Jay Morris, The Wellness Center, and West Monroe Alderman Stacy Albritton Mitchell.

Congratulations to all of the honorees!

Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2018 West Corporation. All rights reserved.