Skip to main content

District Recognizes Employees of Distinction

Posted Date: 01/22/2019

Thumbnail Image for Article 29066

Ouachita Parish Schools recently celebrated 2018-19 Employees of Distinction. Seventy-seven employees were recognized for outstanding achievements, professionalism, and service to students and community. The annual recognition event is a program of the West Monroe-West Ouachita Chamber of Commerce Adopt-A-School Committee, and is made possible through generous community sponsorship. Teachers of the Year and School Support Employees of the Year are honored from each of the 37 parish campuses, as well as announcement of district finalists for each of the categories and Principal of the Year. District Finalists for Teacher and Principal of the Year will continue to regional and state competition. The Louisiana Department of Education Awards Programs seeks to honor educators who demonstrate excellence in the field, guiding students of all backgrounds and abilities to achieve academic and life-long success; demonstrate leadership and innovation in and outside of the school building walls and engages with various stakeholders in ways which help students and teachers be successful; and express themselves in an engaging and articulate way and is involved in work that adds value to the profession. We wish our finalists the best of luck in their next round of competition!


Ouachita Parish Principals of the Year

2018-2019 Principals of the Year

Jerry Hicks, School Board President; Becky Oaks, West Ouachita High School;
Charles Wright, Ouachita Junior High School; Kevin Welch, Claiborne Elementary;
and Dr. Don Coker, Superintendent


Ouachita Parish Teachers of the Year

2018-2019 Teachers of the Year

Jerry Hicks, School Board President; Julie Norris, George Welch Elementary School;
Marci Bryant, Ouachita Junior High School; Erik Aswell, West Monroe High School;
and Dr. Don Coker, Superintendent


Ouachita Parish Support Employees of the Year

2018-2019 Support Employees of the Year

Jerry Hicks, School Board President; Keisha Arnold, Lenwil Elementary School;
Jessica Holloway, West Ridge Middle School; Clothilda Payne, West Monroe High School;
and Dr. Don Coker, Superintendent


2018-2019 Employees of Distinction







Thank you to our sponsors!
Albritton Photography
Associated Professional Educators of Louisiana
Association Member Benefits Advisors
First Financial Group of America
John Gates Agency of Horace Mann Insurance
Lazenby and Associates, Inc.
Origin Bank
Ouachita Valley Federal Credit Union
Pilot Club of the Twin Cities
Standard Wireless Group
State Representative Frank Hoffmann
State Representative Jay Morris
The ChalkBoard & Gifts
The Wellness Center
WalesGroup ValuTeachers