Skip to main content

Announcing 2018-2019 Students of the Year

Posted Date: 01/22/2019

Thumbnail Image for Article 29100

Ouachita Parish Schools celebrated 34 students at the annual Student of the Year Celebration Luncheon.  The Students of the Year Awards Program is designed to recognize outstanding elementary, middle/junior high, and high school students. This program, patterned after the Teacher of the Year Awards Program, is an excellent opportunity to recognize those students who have demonstrated excellent academic achievement, leadership ability, and citizenship. 

Each student was honored for their achievements and district finalists were announced at the luncheon.  The three district winners will continue on to regional and state competition. The event was sponsored in part by University of Louisiana at Monroe, State Representative Frank Hoffmann, State Representative Jay Morris, Origin Bank, West Monroe-West Ouachita Chamber of Commerce Adopt-A-School Program, and Ouachita Parish Schools.

Congratulations to all of the honorees!

Ouachita Parish Students of the Year

2018-2019 Students of the Year

Bryce Folmar, West Ridge Middle School
Gray Grunsky, Sterlington High School
Cooper Nelson, Sterlington Elementary School

Pictured with Superintendent Don Coker (left) and School Board President Jerry Hicks

2018-2019 Students of the Year

Addisyn Wade Boley Elementary
Lindsey Gooden Calhoun Middle School
Bella Wood Central Elementary
Hunter Fox Claiborne Elementary
Beth Beebe Drew Elementary
Channing Mack East Ouachita Middle School
Keely Crew George Welch Elementary
Gavin Thomas Good Hope Middle School
Jordan Young Highland Elementary
Kaila Cole Jack Hayes Elementary
Aybri Picard Kiroli Elementary
Tony Davis Lakeshore Elementary
Chloe Maza Lenwil Elementary
Taijah Nelson Ouachita Parish High School
Josiah Williams Ouachita Parish Junior High
Addy Sanford Pinecrest Elementary
Titus Trammell Pinecrest Middle School
Makiya Butler Richwood High School
Jameela Cloman Richwood Middle School
LeighAnn Lewis Riser Elementary
Clayton Donaldson Riser Middle School
Jordyn Lawson Riverbend Elementary
Jaiden Woodard Robinson Elementary
Rhianna Lum Shady Grove Elementary
Cooper Nelson Sterlington Elementary
Gray Grunsky Sterlington High School
Kellan Hall Sterlington Middle School
Gabriella Christianson   Swartz Upper Elementary
Mashell Wright Swayze Elementary
Connor Wiedemeier West Monroe High School
Kailey Liner West Ouachita High School
Bryce Folmar West Ridge Middle School
Kaylyn Sanderson Woodlawn Elementary
Ariah Cheek Woodlawn Middle School